Day 2 (Malaysia): Kuay Teow, Roti Canai & Yummy Duck

I woke up late today (cough, cold, headaches…SUPER SICK) so I only had two meals.

Breakfast at 1pm: fried egg on kuay teow (flat rice noodles with bean sprouts), roti canai (indian flatbread made with flour, egg, fat and water) and a thin curry.

_MG_5550

Since I’m mega unwell, we bummed around at home until dinner time.

Enter Yummy Duck!

_MG_5555

The titular yummy ducks.

_MG_5565

Yummy Duck is owned and operated by my aunty’s husband’s brother. My uncle’s brother. My mum’s sister’s brother-in-law. Uncle Hooi.

_MG_5561

I’m related to all these people! Well, three of them by marriage and not blood, but still!

Winky Mak being Asian and advocating peace.

_MG_5563

Since I’m all weird and vegetarian, I got Crispy Noodle braised with Prawn, minus the prawn. RM12, which is approx. AUS$3.74. It’s similar to the Wat Ton Hor I had for dinner yesterday, except the noodles are round, thin, and dryer, allowing them to have more of a ‘fried‘ taste, and pick up more egg sauce.

_MG_5594

I also had me a cup of hot, sugary, soya bean milk. I’ve noticed that when I force my non-Malaysian friends to try it, they hate it. Cause it tastes weird and not like cows milk.

BUT IT’S DELICIOUS AND THE BEST THING ON EARTH AND Y’ALL DON’T KNOW WHAT YOU’RE TALKING ABOUT.

_MG_5590

Everyone else shared the rest of the dishes on the lazy susan, with differing bases. Some had rice, some had noodles with bean sprouts.

Hong Kong style thin egg noodles

_MG_5589

Butter sauce noodle…

_MG_5582

Fried pork neck.

_MG_5614

Roasted pork belly & chilli padi with garlic (the green stuff).

_MG_5585

Char sieu (BBQ pork).

_MG_5575

Fried chicken wings stuffed with glutinous rice.

_MG_5602

Won ton (dumpling) soup.

_MG_5612

Chap Suey (stewed kai choy (relative of bok choy), chilli and assorted meats). This was super spicy.

_MG_5580

Back to my beautiful, glorious vegetables! Hong Kong Style, lightly fried with garlic.

Kai lan.

_MG_5610

Choy yuan.

_MG_5616

Yu Mak. Basically lettuce, but so soft with a hint of crunch when wilted.

_MG_5604

Stay tuned for Day 3, when I might actually get 3 meals. Ta!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

