Day 26 (Malaysia): Last Meal, How to Make Udon Noodles from Scratch and Aero Beauty

Durians. Stinky fruit. One time I saw an episode of Fear Factor where he contestants had to choose between eating insects and durian.  They chose the insects.

_MG_4508

My relatives have a durian tree in the backyard. They got really ripe, so we had to open and eat them before the ants got through the cracks.

_MG_4520

Shaun’s Chicken Rice.

_MG_4531

Said rice.

_MG_4532

Coconut.

_MG_4540

Popiah sushi.

_MG_4543

Popiah.

_MG_4547

Ma’s Rojak.

_MG_4536

Uncle Chiu’s Otak-otak.

_MG_4550

MY thosai masala.

_MG_4559

Uncle Chiu’s roti chanai (he eats a lot).

_MG_4562

Aunty Mary’s Char Kuay Teow.

_MG_4564

Pearl’s Laksa.

_MG_4568

Aunty Mary’s Laksa.

_MG_4570

Banana fritters.

_MG_4574

Pearl made udon noodles from scratch for dinner. (Using the recipe and technique taught to her by her Japanese host family.) The ratio is 1 : 1.5 : 2.5 (water: plain flour : bread flour). Sift the two flours together, make a well then pour the water in. Slowly mix the flour in. KNEAD FOR YOUR LIFE.

_MG_4586

Place the dough into a plastic bag. Put the plastic bag into another plastic bag. Put it into another bag. Place on floor. STAMP FOREVER UNTIL SOFT.

_MG_4592

Roll out the dough fold the edges over in thirds then cut strips of noodles. Unfurl them.

_MG_4600

Last minute mushroom additions.

_MG_4608

Boil for 6 minutes. Not raw, but still chewy.

_MG_4611

Mirin and soy based soup. (Don’t drink it, just dunk your ingredients to soak.)

_MG_4612

Our gorgeous spread.

_MG_4615

Dry, shredded seaweed. Soaked in soup, it turns into soft, heavenly floss.

_MG_4617

Firm tofu.

_MG_4618

Soft tofu.

_MG_4620

Pickled, or preserved turnip. A common ingredient in vegetarian sushi rolls (in stick form) it’s sweet, with concentrated juice. It’s firm, with a flavour that’s not too pervasive.

_MG_4624

Foreground: spring onion. Background: corriander (which my family hates).

_MG_4627

Inari strips (fried tofu skins soaked in a mirin and soy sauce mixture).

_MG_4630

Steamed shiitake and enoki mushrooms.

_MG_4650

Chef Pearl dishing out the noodles.

_MG_4636

My oh-so-delicious bowl of sugary-salty goodness.

_MG_4642

Dessert: vanilla macademia gelato.

_MG_4657

More dessert: chocolate hazelnut gelato.

_MG_4653

And we go full circle. Plane on my way home to Gold Coast, Australia.

_MG_4662

More burnt than Day 1.

_MG_4665

The first 3 hours were constant turbulence. I’m terrified of flying, so when it got really bad, I started crying and having a panic attack. The lovely New Zealand couple next to me helped calm me down with jokes and stories of their travels. Thank you so, so much.

But when morning came, I was relieved. Stable flying and such a beautiful morning sky.

_MG_4696

I photographed my pancakes this time!

_MG_4723

As always, more grateful for the coffee than the pancakes.

_MG_4725

The ice and condensation on the windows turned into rainbow moons through camera my lens.

_MG_4822

When we landed, I couldn’t find my eye mask. So I took a photo under my seat to find it.

_MG_4833

So that’s it. The end of my travels. But it’s only the beginning of 2013.

For everybody who has followed my journey, thank you, and I hope it inspires you to travel and try new foods.

I’ll soon be back to my usual rhetoric of posting recipes – with added flavours, inspired by my travels.

Much love, 

Jaymee.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Day 26 (Malaysia): Last Meal, How to Make Udon Noodles from Scratch and Aero Beauty

  1. Katherine Mak says:

    Well done though so busy still manage to finish the wonderful blog! Cheers!

  2. sheila liew says:

    Do u hv sushi popiah resipi..tq

Leave a Reply

