VANCOUVERPOST: Pacific Rim, Parks & Breakfast

So much happens in a week here that I apologise in advance for a year’s worth of massive blog posts, filled with multiple jumbled topics. I shall get around to reformatting my blog for easier navigation during my next school break.

IN THE MEANTIME.

So I recently watched Pacific Rim (2013) and I realised that it’s been a while since I’ve found myself relating to a female protagonist. Maybe ever – Mulan (1998) being the only exception. So this is my Mako-inspired outfit and make-up, thrown together from stuff I had lying around the house. It’s not a cosplay by any means, but something I like to do from time to time. I remember watching Rebel Without A Cause (1955) and thinking that I couldn’t wait to wear a red jacket, white t-shirt, blue jeans and boots. 

Mako Mori is a Japanese orphan, adopted by the director of mech operations, Stacker Pentecost. She’s kick-ass and plays the love interest to the lead character, Raleigh Beckett – without being overtly sexualised. What I particularly enjoyed is that Mako’s actress, Rinko Kikuchi, used her character’s vulnerability to comedic effect, turning the Asian ‘cute girl’ trope into an endearing feature used for a non-sexual purpose.

_MG_7502

In other news, here’s a plate of food.

Veggie Benedict: 2 poached eggs, spinach, zucchini, hashbrown. $7.99

Hashbrowns are weird in Canada-land. These were too dry. Blerg.

_MG_6764

Nick’s Smoked Salmon Omelette and Hashbrowns (smoked salmon, spinach, green onion) $7.99.

_MG_6776

My Lemon Iced Tea ($1.25) and our view.

_MG_6754

So I started off trying to capture the beauty of Vancouver’s parks but photos are just so much more interesting with a human subject in them. AKA here’s another photo of my boyfriend.

_MG_6858

And another one. Because he climbed up this tree trunk. Squinty face.

_MG_6894

Little monkey.

_MG_6985

I know, you’re disappointed. This one’s just a tree and no Nick.

_MG_6963

Just a random massive fountain on a gorgeous lake. What up Vancouver?!

_MG_7028

I am serenity.

_MG_7024

Another tree!

_MG_7077

Nick was surprised when I said I’d never seen a squirrel before.

_MG_7117

What a little bugger.

_MG_7118

Vancouver is damn gorgeous.

_MG_7144

It makes me want to cry.

_MG_7155

SERIOUSLY. Why so good looking for?

_MG_7158

People love interacting with you when you have a camera in your hands.

_MG_7196

_MG_7204

Wandering around Gastown at night.

_MG_7325

Found these in an Asian foodstore.

_MG_7270

This city is amazing.

_MG_7338

This was originally intended to be a SUPER MASSIVE POST but I’ve decided to be kind and break this up into two. So look out for the next section: First Playtest, First Fridays & Diners, coming to an APPLETOMYPI blog near you!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

